The Golden Plates

The Golden Plates Subway Art {PDF}

Screen shot 2013-04-14 at 2.14.06 PM

What do you think? Do you like these subway art style posters better than the others? I kind of think I do. Maybe I’ll do more of these soon!

Since this one has all the words for both verses of this song, it would be great for a reminder for the older kids! You could teach with this poster as well if you cut it up and built it like a puzzle, or you could cut blank paper in the shapes of the phrases and cover them as you learn it.

I started teaching this song today in our primary. I started by telling them the story of how Joseph Smith got the Gold Plates. I found this little illustrated story from the Friend on the Church website and sort of used it as a guide. Then we went through each line me singing and them repeating it back to me. We spent a minute talking about what “confide” means.

Then I told them that we were going to learn some Italian. We talked about dynamics and how they tell you what volume to sing in music. In Junior Primary we learned piano, forte, and mezzo piano and forte. I showed them how I could conduct to show them how loud or soft to sing by raising and lowering my left hand. I showed them were forte was first and then where each of the other levels were. Then we sang it through a couple of times and then I picked a kid to come up and lead the volume. I had them show us where the different levels were like a little quiz. We left it there in Junior Primary, and in Senior Primary we went on to talk about fortissimo and pianissimo and ended with crescendos and decrescendos. We sang through the song a lot! And they were happy to do it for the challenge of following the leader. I hope your April songs are going well!

HAPPY SINGING!

3 thoughts on “The Golden Plates

  1. For some reason my comment didn’t post (maybe, perhaps, I forgot to click the post comment button – I do things like that) But I am SO EXCITED about these subway posters! They are great. I think I may shrink them, print them, laminate, punch holes in the top and make rings for the kids (kind of like scripture mastery card rings that my older ones have. Thanks so much!!!!

      • I just posted the pics of the rings (and I also made some album size – hoping to find a stash of small albums at the dollar store) on my other singing blog: Would You Like To Sing A song — wouldyouliketosingasong.blogspot.com – I included a pdf of my reductions – hope that is okay! Thanks so much again!!!!!

Leave a Reply

