Introducing: I Am a Child of God!

Chances are you’ll be introducing the 2013 theme “I Am A Child of God” (you can find my poster in this post) soon. I think it’s a pretty safe bet that your kids already know at least the first verse of I Am A Child of God, so we’ll start by singing that. I found these great ideas on Sugardoodle that I’m going to use next week. She suggests that you sing the song once through together and ask the kids to listen for rhyming words (here and dear, way and someday). Then introduce the second verse (or just sing it if they already know it) and emphasize the words that rhyme. The great thing about this song is that they really only have to learn 4 lines since they already know the chorus. Then talk about what the chorus means. What kind of things can lead and guide us back to living with our Heavenly Father? Here’s where it gets exciting! Sing Do As I’m Doing but only do actions that represent things that can help you return to Heavenly Father. Use these little cards for some ideas, or let the kids come up with their own. Only show the paper to one child and have them be the leader. After the song is over, let everyone guess what the action represented.

Do As I’m Doing Action Cards { PDF }

Screen shot 2012-12-28 at 10.47.17 AM

And, if you’re not quite ready to give up the Christmas songs and activities, you can do as Laura from Henckel House suggested and use my Trim a Tree activity and “un-decorate” the tree! Save this activity for next week and put all those ornaments away for next year!

HAPPY SINGING!

5 thoughts on “Introducing: I Am a Child of God!

  1. I wish you could have seen my jaw drop as I read your last paragraph. Thanks so much for the shout-out! And thanks so much for your super awesome ideas! And sugardoodle does have some super awesome ideas for “I am a Child of God” I just love that index that has ideas on a separate page for nearly every song in the Songbook. This internet thing is AWESOME! Thanks again and happy happy new year!

  2. Oh, I love you! I have been scouring the web trying to find ways to introduce NEW songs (rather than games for reviewing songs you’ve already learned) and you are the ONLY one I’ve found who has a great suggestion for introducing the first song of the new year. And it’s so simple and fun, too! Thank you! Also, your blog design is the cutest thing in the world. 😉 So glad I found you!

  3. I love all the ideas from the sugar doodle link, but are you planning on teaching all 4 verses to your kids? I was planning on going that, but then it makes it hard to squeeze them all in. Just wanted to see what you were thinking 🙂 Thanks for all your hard work!

Leave a Reply

